HEALTH SYSTEMS DIVISION
Behavioral Health Programs ‘ a

Measure 110 Information for Health Care Providers

The Drug Addiction Treatment and Recovery Act (Ballot Measure 110) reduces the penalty for
possessing small amounts of illegal drugs in Oregon. Starting Feb. 1, 2021.:

Instead of getting arrested, people will get a citation.
Citations may have a $100 fine.
People can complete a health assessment to avoid paying the fine.

Health care providers may be asked by their patients to provide an assessment. This fact sheet
explains where to refer patients to get a qualified assessment.

Refer patients to the statewide Addiction Recovery Center hotline: 503-575-3769
The hotline will be open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Oregon courts will only accept health assessments completed by Addiction Recovery Centers that
have been recognized by the Oregon Health Authority (OHA).

The statewide hotline is the only OHA-recognized center at this time.

Once regional centers are in place, you can refer patients to your local center for assessments.

Addiction Recovery Center hotline services are only for individuals with drug citations.
Only people cited for possession of controlled substances should call the hotline.

For others seeking addiction and recovery services, please continue to refer them to their health
plan, coordinated care organization or local community mental health program.

Addiction and Recovery Center services and supports

The statewide center will provide the following supports for callers to the hotline:

An initial triage to determine the individual’s immediate needs, including emergent or urgent
care needs, and connect them to appropriate services.

A health assessment for callers with a drug possession fine. An addiction treatment or
recovery professional will conduct the assessment, which includes a substance use disorder
screening.

Case management for callers who want to address any of the needs identified during the
health assessment. The treatment/recovery professional will help them develop an
intervention plan with coordinated services and supports.

The center will also send proof of the completed assessment to the individual, who can then present
it to court to have the fine waived.

Questions?
Website: bit.ly/oha-measurel10
Email: OHA.Measurell0@dhsoha.state.or.us

Measure 110 Health Assessment Fact Sheet Last updated 01/29/2021


http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/HSD/OHP/Pages/Coordinated-Care-Organizations.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/HSD/AMH/Pages/CMH-Programs.aspx
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